Amphibian Week 2022

May 1 – 7, 2022

Theme: What Are Amphibians?

We recommend returning to this page frequently, as information will be added and updated regularly.

  • May 1: Amphibians Through Time
  • May 2: Amphibian Superpowers
  • May 3: Meet an Amphibian
  • May 4: Meet an Amphibian Biologist
  • May 5: Name that Amphibian
  • May 6: Amphibians on the Move
  • May 7: Amphibians are important
Amphibian Week 2022 Flier Cover

Download a tagged-text PDF of the Amphibian Week themes

Download and Share the Logo

International Amphibian Week

Social Media Toolkit

Download the Amphibian Week 2022 Social Media Toolkit

Are you looking for ideas and/ or inspiration for posts? If so, check out our social media toolkit which includes sample posts you can copy and paste, photo sources, and more! Be sure to use our official Amphibian Week hashtags and consider tagging PARC!

#AmphibianWeek, #AmphibianWeek2022

Events

May 1: Ancient Giants: Meet a Japanese Giant Salamander; 12:00 PM PT/1:00 PM MT/ 2:00 PM CT/ 3:00 PM ET

Travel back in time to meet the Smithsonian’s Japanese giant salamanders with Matt Evans, Assistant Curator at Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute . Matt will introduce audiences to these prehistoric critters, will show a quick video and will answer questions about this fascinating amphibian. We also might get a chance to ‘meet’ some Japanese giant salamanders at the end of the session. Closed captions will be available via Zoom. This webinar has concluded. Please check back for recordings.

May 3: Meet Amphibian Foundation’s Ambassadors; 11:00 AM PT/ 12:00 PM MT/1:00 PM CT/2:00 PM ET

Join Amphibian Foundation Lead Educator, Amanda Dahlgren, to learn about some local amphibians and meet some of their ambassadors live! Closed captions will be available via Zoom. This webinar has concluded. Please check back for recordings.

May 5: Name that Amphibian!; 3:00 PM PT/4:00 PM MT/ 5:00 PM CT/ 6:00 PM ET

Join Jamie Bettaso, Wildlife Biologist with the US Forest Service Six Rivers National Forest, to test out your California/ West Coast Amphibian knowledge! Can you ID all the species?! This webinar will be geared towards high school age and above, but all are welcome to attend and learn about these cool amphibians. Please click here to register. Closed captions will be available via Zoom. 

Amphibian Migration by Sydney Horan

Educational Resources

Amphibians through Time by Nina B. McDonnell

Additional Resources

Contacts

parc_coordinators@parcplace.org